Meal Prep Monday

I meal prep for many different reasons.  My main goal is for it to force encourage me to eat better throughout the week when it comes to lunch.  Prepping all of these things makes it easy for me to pull them all out in the morning and basically assembly line my lunch together.  This weekend prep consisted of grilled/ baked chicken (1/2 seasoned in salt free Cavenders and 1/2 seasoned with lemon pepper), roasted broccoli, green beans, black beans with rotel tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, fruit, and brown rice.

Image*Not Pictured: black beans (they were still cooking in my crock pot), brown rice (still cooking in my dutch oven), roasted broccoli (forgot).

I also peeled and sliced kiwi, cut the tops of strawberries and made little fruit packs for snacks too.  If I don’t peel a kiwi in advance like the night before, I won’t eat it.  It’s too much work to peel at work for a quick snack.

Sometimes I just prep my fruit for the week, and sometimes I don’t prep at all.  What happens when I don’t prep at all?  Fast food happens.  I don’t like to waste food so having all of this cooked already, more or less, forces me to eat it.

Other prep ideas are:

  • Shredding chicken
  • Roasting veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, etc) surprisingly it does microwave well
  • Shredding cheese (from a block, because pre-shredded cheese has yucky stuff in it, see for yourself)
  • Making enchilada, pizza, or spaghetti sauce (if it’s on the menu that week)
  • Cutting fruit
  • Making breakfast burritos/ lunch wraps
  • Cleaning greens (wrap in a paper towel, use within 3 days)
  • Cooking batches of beans
  • Cooking brown/ wild rice

Those are just some of the ideas I came up with.  I do lots of prep on the weekends.  You should try it, and see how much time and stress it saves you throughout your week. 

 

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

