Freezer Cooking Friday: Meatloaf

So I went out on a limb here hoping to convert my husband into being a meatloaf lover.  I like meatloaf, I wouldn’t say love, but I like it.  I will eat it.  My Dad, is a meatloaf lover, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  I just felt this was a perfect opportunity to try it.  With this as a freezer meal all of the prep takes place way before you actually eat it.  So I knew that on the day that I make it, IF he didn’t like it, I wouldn’t feel like a ton of time was lost.

So on Sunday I decided to throw it into the oven and try it out.  This is best when cooked slow.  I pulled my frozen meatloaf, right out of the freezer, unwrapped it, and cooked it at 325 for 2 hours and it was the juiciest meatloaf I have ever eaten.

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground meat, you could use all ground beef, or use 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork (I used half beef & half ground pork)
3/4 cup (about) bread crumbs, I used Italian because that is what I had on hand
2 eggs
½ small onion, chopped or grated, I grated an onion because the juice you get is just amazing!
½ to 1 teaspoon seasoning salt
salt and pepper, dash or 2 of each

With a mixer or by hand, mix together all ingredients. Put into loaf pan.  Pat down to make the top even.  Cover and wrap in aluminum foil.  Be sure to wrap very well, to prevent freezer burn.

I wrote on the top of mine so I knew exactly what it was and hot to prepare it.

Bake Uncovered.  Frozen.

Like I mentioned before about the name, Meatloaf, it’s just not appealing.  Well…. neither is a slice of meatloaf.  No matter how wonderful it may taste, it’s ugly.  Period.  So to spruce it up a bit, to better serve my purpose of convincing my hubby, I thought I would give it a quick sear to give it an extra layer of texture.  It was pretty much an awesome idea.  If I must say.  I liked it both ways.  I will actually be saving these leftovers, and I don’t normally do leftovers.

Final verdict, the husband said it was good.  He ate the three slices that I put on his plate, however did not return for a second helping, and politely asked me to not make meatloaf anymore : )

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

Enjoying the Ride

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

