Crispy Parmesan Chicken Strips

I have made my fair share of chicken strips for my family.  I try to make my own, and not have to buy the expensive bag kind from the store, but I have just never been able to get them to be very flavorful.  Well I have finally found the perfect solution.  It all happened by accident, go figure.  I started pulling out my ingredients, one of them being panko bread crumbs, my fave, and turns out I didn’t have a full bag like I thought I did.

Hiding behind the half empty bag of panko was a bag of old croutons.  Well they weren’t like moldy old, just like old.  They weren’t stale, just, you know, knocking on the door to stale.  They were perfect, however, to smash into tiny bits and use as my crumb coating.

Crispy Parmesan Chicken Strips:

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts, cut into thin strips

2/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated

Panko bread crumbs, I had one cup

Seasoned croutons, I had about 2 cups, which made about 1 cup crushed

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp dried parsley

2 egg whites

2 tsp water

I cut my chicken into thin strips.  One, to make it cook faster, I have hungry boys to feed that do not like to wait, and two because I got more out of my 3 chicken breasts.  They cook faster so they don’t dry out, and the more breading on one strip means more flavor.

First I forked my 2 egg whites and 2 teaspoons of water in a bowl.  In a large baggie add your crushed croutons, panko bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, garlic salt, and parsley.  Dip each strip into egg whites, then toss in large baggie filled with crumb coating.  Shake around to coat evenly.

Lay coated strips out onto slightly greased baking sheet or stoneware.  Do not crowd pan, you do not want these strips to steam, you want them to cook evenly and get crispy all around.

Bake in a 450 degree preheated oven for about 10 minutes.  This time will vary depending on how large you make your strips.  If you decide to make your strips much larger than mine I would suggest turning your temperature down to about 425, otherwise your crumbs will burn and the inside will not cook all the way through.

Another great thing about this was that my three chicken breasts made enough to feed us three, plus I had extra to freeze.

 

 

Comments

  1. WOW your chicken strips look awesome and I am glad they are baked
    less guilt means I can eat more.Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  2. Thank you so much! They were delish!!

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

