Super Fast Side Dishes: Fried Rice

Saturday’s Super Fast Side Dish:

Fried Rice:

The other night I needed a super fast side dish to go with dinner.  I have been trying to use up what is in the fridge, and multi purpose different ingredients.  I had leftover rice from having poppy seed chicken over the weekend, leftover onion from my beef stew so I immidiately had a craving for fried rice.  I totally made this up on the fly, and I have to say I was pretty impressed.

Ingredients:

  • Rice (white or brown, and leftover works best)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Egg
  • Onions (yellow or white)
  • Extras: sesame oil, peas, carrots, other veggies

I didn’t put any other veggies in because I do NOT like peas, and didn’t have any carrots.  I did add a couple drops of sesame oil, if you add this it only takes drops, literally DROPS.

In a large skillet add in a pat of butter.  Once melted add in your egg and immidiately scrambled and chop.  I used a wooded spoon to be sure it was choppy and not big egg chunks.  Add in your chopped onion and cook until translucent.

Add in rice and stir.  At this point you would add in other veggies, and now your soy sauce.  I didn’t put measurements on there for the soy sauce because this will vary so much.  It will depend on how much rice you are using, and what kind of soy sauce you are using (I use low sodium so I would need a little more than regular), and how salty you like it.  I judged it by color and then taste.  Once it started to look “right” then I tasted and went from there.

You can’t really mess this up, unless of course you over “soy”.  Always taste before adding more.

Comments

  1. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i came to “return
    the favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!
    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!
    !

Trackbacks

  1. […] like to introduce to you all two new features!  You have already gotten one sneak peek which was Side dish Saturday, I’d also like to start a Freezer Cooking Friday.  This weekend I spent a lot of time in the […]

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

Enjoying the Ride

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

