Healthy Cajun Chicken Pasta

My original favorite dish from Chili’s was their Cajun Chicken Pasta.  Then they went and changed the alfredo sauce recipe, it was gross, so I moved on.  It has always been in the back of my mind though, so I have tried to recreate it on multiple occasions.  Lately we have been trying to eat healthy around here, so I figured it was time to upgrade some of our current regulars to something more figure friendly.  Pasta…. covered in white sauce…… although it sounds heavenly it is by no means going to shrink your waist.  Which brings me to…….

Okay… so some foods just aren’t meant to be in front of the camera, this being one of them.  Trust me on this one, it is so delicious you will not care what it looks like.

Cajun Chicken Pasta: Light

Ingredients:

Whole Wheat Pasta (I used penne because that is what I had, linguine or angel hair would be great too)

Chicken breast (I used 2 large)

1/3 cup Milk

1 Tbs Flour

3 Tbs Cream Cheese (Reduced fat, fat-free, light, whatever)

Cajun Seasoning

Salt

Pepper

3-5 Garlic Cloves

Garlic Powder

1 cup Chicken Broth

1 Tbs Olive Oil

Extras:

Red onion

Red/ Green Pepper

Mushrooms

Tomatoes

Slice chicken breasts thin, they cook faster and don’t dry out on you.  I slice them super thing at a diagonal, making for better bite size pieces.  Season generously with Cajun seasoning, garlic powder and salt.  A pinch of salt will do at this point.  Most Cajun seasonings are salty, so you don’t want to over salt.  You can always add more later.

Start pasta water boiling, and cook pasta to box directions.  Heavily salt pasta water.

In a heavy bottom large skillet, spray a spritz or two of cooking spray, and cook chicken.  Depending on how much chicken you are making you may need to cook in two batches.  Once cooked through, remove from pan and place aside.

In a blender, mix flour, milk, and cream cheese making a slurry.  This is your “creamyness”.

Once chicken is removed, add in olive oil.  Toss in chopped garlic and whatever your extras are.  I only did onions and garlic.  If you are doing more, throw into pan according to cooking time.  For example, onions and peppers will take longer to become tender than a tomato and mushroom.  Use your judgement.

Once veggies are tenderized to your liking, add broth and slurry into center of pan, stir for about two minutes.  Be sure there are no lumps or clumps of cream cheese or flour.

Add in chicken, and simmer on low for a few minutes.  I also tossed in my cooked pasta at this point, so the creamy sauce could coat my pasta also.

I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on my dish, for an extra dash of deliciousness.  This was just enough creamy and alfredo-y to fulfill my creamy alfredo pasta hankering.  Hankering… real word?  No?  I don’t know, anyway. 

I’m no nutritionist by any means, but I tried to figure up a calorie count for this dish, just to see how good I could feel about eating it.  Here is what I came up with:

Serving: 1 1/2 cups

Calories:  320

Fiber: 7 grams (I only calculated the whole wheat pasta I used)

That is about all I could gather.  Hope it helps.

Comments

  1. I’m so impressed to see onions in there!

  2. Since the admin of this website is working, no question very rapidly it will
    be renowned, due to its quality contents.

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

Enjoying the Ride

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

