Chewy Chocolate Granola Bars

I have been trying to get my family away from as many processed foods as possible.  It is a slow process, but we are working on it.  One of the changes that I did make was the “bars” we were eating. After buying 4 boxes per trip, at about $3 a box, just to have them gone in a week, and then reading those ingredients, something had to give.  I found a recipe for granola bars online, after 3 failed attempts (because they wouldn’t stay together once cut) I made adjustments and it finally worked!

These have become a favorite in my house, and I make them pretty regularly.

Ingredients:

2 cups oats (quick cook)

2 cups rice cereal (like rice )

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla

Chocolate chips

Extra add-ins (optional):  nuts, seeds, raisins, cranberries, etc

In small saucepan, mix honey and brown sugar stirring until sugar has dissolved.  Remove from heat, immediately add in peanut butter.  In a large bowl combine the oats and cereal, then fold in peanut butter mixture.  Toss in your chocolate chips.

The amount of chocolate chips is really up to you.  I prefer mini chips, and I typically use about 1/2 cup.  You may want more or less depending on how sweet and “desserty” you want them.  Toss in any other add ins.

Mix well, then press into your slightly greased 9×13 dish.  Pressing the top to make it as even as possible.  I also added a few chocolate chips to the top, and pressed them in with my hands.

refrigerate until firm, then slice up to preferred size, and store in snack baggies.

I like to keep them in the fridge until I am ready to take them or eat them.  They hold up better with the chocolate cold.

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

