Poppy Seed Chicken

Every weekend I cook up chicken, in my slow cooker, to shred for whatever recipes need chicken that week.  This past weekend I made too much, so come Friday I had to figure out a recipe to whip up to use the rest of the chicken.  I love me some poppy seed chicken, so it was my first go to recipe.  Who doesn’t love a bubbling hot casserole on a chilly night?  This is a pretty versatile dish because you can add different spices to it that will fit into your family.  This can also be made ahead of time, frozen, then baked.  Just make your rice fresh, and you have a quick hot supper.

Poppy Seed Chicken

Ingredients:

4 cups shredded/ cubed chicken  (I always premake this on the weekends)

2 Cans Cream of chicklen Soup

1 Cup Sour Cream

2 Tbs Poppy Seeds

Ritz Crackers, crushed, about 1 ½ sleeves

½ cup butter, melted

1 tsp. worchestershire sauce (optional)

½ tsp. pepper (optional)

Rice, prepared

In a 9 x 13 casserole dish layer your chicken evenly.  In a separate bowl combine the soups, sour cream, worchestershire sauce, and pepper.  Pour over top of chicken, spread out across the top.  In a small bowl combine crushed crackers, melter butter, poppy seeds, and then sprinkle across top of casserole.

Bake at 350, for about 30 minutes, or until eerything is nice and bubbly.  I always prepare white rice for the dish.  I use that as my bottom layer on my plates.  White rice, then chicken mixture on top makes it more of a complete meal.  I usually serve green beans or green peas with this for some color.

YUMO!

Comments

  1. How do u shred and cook your chicken?

    • I am actually posting that this week. I throw some frozen chicken breasts in the slow cooker on Sunday, with some bay leaves, and a little chicken broth. Then once it’s cooked I let it cool, shred it, and keep it for whatever recipes need it that week. I just make enough for each recipe calling for chicken.

Trackbacks

  1. […] chicken on my BBQ chicken pizza, in a chicken noodle soup, my golden chicken enchiladas, and in my poppy-seed chicken.  All dishes with a different flavor spectrum. Share this:FacebookPinterestPrintEmailLike […]

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

