Soup Success!

I usually do not just venture out and start making something from my head with no recipe.  I mean let’s face it, my track record in doing so is just not to hot, and I hate wasting food.  Last weekend I got a wild hair and wanting chicken noodle soup, with dumplings.  I wanted it to be different from what I usually make, because as you know I am afraid of “color” in my food.  I am making great strides in trying new things and hae to say that I’m pretty darn proud of my self.  This dish has TWO colors, and I ate them both!

This recipe does not give specific amounts of ingredients.  It varies heavily on how many people you are cooking for.  I also made extra to freeze for another night.

Chicken and Noodle Soup with Dumplins:

Precooked, shredded chicken

Chicken broth (I used one packet of Knorr concentrated broth, and made my own b/c that is all I had on hand and it was GOOD)

2 Carrots

2 Stalks of celery

Butter

Egg noodles

Small, butter biscuits (not cooked)

In a large dutch oven, or other heavy bottom pot, melt your butter on medium heat.  Dice celery and carrots and add into butter.   Saute until tender.  Add in chicken and broth, enough broth/water until  it reaches the soup consistency that you like.  Bind to a gentle boil, add in noodles.  Cover pot, leaving a small crack for steam to escape so it won’t boil over.  Once noodles are tender, cute each biscuit into dumpling size.  I cut them into about 1 inch.  I did them small so they cooked faster, and easier for little mouths to eat them.  They were perfect.  I used kitchen shears and just cut them directly over my pot.  Dropping them in carefully, as not to splash you, and trying to keep them from topping each other.

Boil, covered, until done.  Serve.

To freeze, pour into large freezer bag, lay flat and freeze.

Like so.

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

