Swedish Style Meatballs with Gravy

Tonight I got to cook in peace.  My husband took my son outside to ride his bike and I got to be alone in the kitchen.  Just the way I like it.  I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while now, but assumed that it was going to need to be babysat and I just can’t babysit dinner when I have a tiny human hanging from my knees. 

Once I realized that I would have the kitchen to myself tonight I knew this was what I was going to try.  To my surprise there really was no babysitting involved.  Other than the gravy, I didn’t have to watch anything. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 3 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1/4 heavy whipping cream
  • 1 14 oz can beef broth
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil

Mix together turkey, breadcrumbs, egg, salt, pepper, and allspice. Mix well but do not over mix. I use my hands for this, to be the spices are evenly distributed.  I use a medium size cookie scoop, and rolled them into round meatballs.  Heat skillet to medium high heat, once oil is shimmering add meatballs.  Cook, turning once, for about 6-8 minutes.  They do NOT have to be cooked all the way through at this point. 

Remove meatballs.  Add in flour with bits on the bottom of the pan.  Whisk constantly collecting the brown bits on the pan.  Cook flour for about 1-2 minutes.  Slowly add in heavy whipping cream and beef broth constantly whisking to prevent clumps. 

Add meatballs into gravy mix, cover and simmer for 5 minutes or until meatballs are no longer pink. 

Serve hot over rice or egg noodles.  I sered mine with roasted dilly potatoes because my hubby doesn’t like rice and I had no egg noodles.  It is a keeper!

Image

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

Enjoying the Ride

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

