Mexican Pizza…

Today I surprised my hubby when he got home from drill with some delicious mexican pizzas.  When he came through the door and smelled the aroma he said, “Hey Hunny, did you go to Taco Bell just for me?” to which I replied “No hunny, these are homemade, just for you!”.  Then I kicked the oven door shut with my heel, while floating across the kitchen with the perfect little pizzas on my baking sheet.  I wipe my hands on my ruffled apron and we all enjoy a perfect meal while discussing our day!……and then a fairy appeared and did all my dishes!!!  Pshhht… if only any of that was true!

The truth is, I did in fact make mexican pizzas tonight, and we did eat them.  This is true.  They weren’t however pretty, and we didn’t discuss our days because we were too busy stuffing our faces.

Of course when I get into the kitchen something always happens, this day being no different.  I get to the step where I sprinkle the cheese on top and of course we have none of the cheese that I need.  I had to improvise with shredded american.  It was good, but would definitely be better with a mexican blend, or at least cheddar.

Ingredients:

  • Ground beef
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Tortilla Shells (any size, but medium works best for easy transport)
  • Canola Oil (for brushing)
  • Salsa, taco sauce of your choice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • Refried beans (I used canned but you can go homemade if you are feeling all organic)
  • Shredded cheese
  • Onions, Sour cream, Tomatoes, jalapeno, Olives (all optional toppings)

I’m a picky eater, so I omitted all of the latter

First line your baking sheet with foil, and preheat oven to 400.  Brush both sides of your tortilla with canola oil all the way to the edges.  I got three on one baking sheet.  Bake them for 10 minutes, 5 on each side, to slightly crispy.  While tortillas are baking, mix beans, water, paprika, and 1 tsp of your taco seasoning.  Combine well, until creamy.

Remove tortillas from oven, layer beans, seasoned meat, cheese, and any other toppings.  Top with another shell that you have brushed ONE side with the canola oil. Place on pizza, oiled side up.  Then top with any other desired ingredients.  We added beans, cheese and taco sauce.  I put onions on my hubby’s pizza.  Place back into oven, for about 8 minutes or until everything is warm and toasty.

I threw a little plain cheese quesadilla on there for my little one.

They aren’t pretty, but make up for it in flavor.  If I had the right shredded cheese on there, they would have looked better.  Next time, I’ll be prepared.

 

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

