Ham & Cheese Poppy Sammies

This has become one of my absolute favorites around here.  It is so versatile, and you can easily change the portions you are making to prevent waste (because we hate leftovers here).  I even tried something different tonight with the sauce I put on the inside of the buns.  There are only 45,989 recipes for this exact sammy all over the blogosphere.  I found it on The Girl Who Ate Everything and then went from there.

Ingredients:

  • Pack of King’s Hawaiian Rolls
  • Deli Ham
  • Sliced Cheese
  • Creamy Poppy Seed dressing
  • Mayo
  • Dijon mustard
  • honey

I didn’t specify amounts on this list because you can make as many or as little as you want.  I use sliced pepperjack cheese because it melts well and give the sammies an extra kick.

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to dress the inside of the sammies with, so I just threw something together with what I had.  I mixed the mayo, Dijon, and honey together in a bowl.  Equal portions of each.  I brushed the insides, top and bottom, with the creamy mixture.

Cute tiny spatula, huh?

Once your rolls are slathered, top them with your sliced cheese, ham and then the bun top.  Once your sammies are built, just brush the top of them with the creamy poppy-seed dressing.  I’ve made these about 6 times now, since switching to this dressing, and every single time I make them again I always add more to the top.  This stuff is dreamy!  Go heavy with it, you won’t regret it.

Bake at 400, until toasty and melty.  You will smell them.  This takes about 7-10 minutes, depending on how many you are making.  Keep an eye on them.

This is a great dish for football days coming up, easy to make lots to share. Or not share, whatever. : )

Comments

  1. Man … I just ate and I’m hungry again!!

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

