Momma’s Chicken Manicotti-

 

Momma’s Chicken Manicotti

Ingredients:

2 cans cream of chicken soup

1.5 cups of water

1/4 lb (4 oz) Velveeta Cheese, cut up into chunks

2 cups frozen broccoli florets (optional)

manicotti shells – 1 box

Chicken (you can cook chicken breasts and then chunk them, OR you can do what I do and buy one of those cooked rotiesserie chickens and shred away)

1/4 parmesan cheese, grated (optional)

1 small can of chopped green chilis (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  In a microwavable bowl mix one can of soup, water, and the Velveeta.  Microwave for 3 minutes, stirring after 2, until cheese is melted.  Blend well.  Pour some, about 1/3, of the mixture on the bottom of your 9×13 inch baking dish.  Enough to cover the bottom.  If adding broccoli, add now to the remaining mixture.

After you have shredded chicken, add the remaining can of soup and the green chilis.  Stuff each UNCOOKED manicotti shell with the chicken mixture.  You are going to have to use your hands for this, to stuff the shells.  Trust me, I have tried every tool in my kitchen to assist me in the stuffing, and nothing works.  Lay the stuffed shells into the baking dish, touching.  They will be cramped, and you can turn some sideways too to make them fit.  Going for taste here, not beauty.

After you have stuffed your shells then pour the rest of your cheesy mixture over the manicotti. Sprinkle your parmesan cheese on top.  The parmesan cheese is also optional, my momma hates everything about parmesan cheese so when family is coming over for dinner, then I omit this ingredient.  Cover your dish with foil.

Bake at 400 for 30-35 minutes or until the pasta is tender.

Done. Delish. Enjoy.

Awesome leftovers too.  You can easily double this recipe and have a whole other meal for lunch the next day.  Please let me know if you try this, and how much you love it.

UPDATED: 9/3/12– I made this tonight for my husband, son and I and I used my new Pampered Chef Stone rectangle baker.  Tip for anyone making this dish, don’t use stone.  It worked, it cooked, and we ate it, BUT the stone sucks up the extra moisture that keeps everything really creamy and cheesy.  So, just stick with glass baking dish.  If using dark metal pan, then lower heat to about 375.

Trackbacks

  1. […] so awesomely amazing I can’t even begin to tell you.  In fact, they were very similar to my manicotti only a lot easier to prepare.  I actually can’t wait to make these again, and next time I […]

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

