Shrimp with Garlic Sauce over Penne Pasta

Tonight’s dinner was almost catastrophic!!! 

This happened to me tonight!  They say don’t cry over spilled milk, well what about SPOILED milk?  Can I cry about that?  Since I dumped a can of spoiled evaporated milk into my skillet and had to start over completely, I think I deserve a tantrum or two.  I mean REALLY!  Who leaves MILK on the shelf for years, and then tries to use it? Pshhht! Me, that’s who!  Ok. I’m over it, moving on.

Ingredients:

2 cups penne pasta

2 garlic cloves

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 can evaporated milk (I used whole milk, for reasons we have previously covered) : )

1 can chicken broth (14 oz can)

1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined

2/3 cup parmesan cheese

2 tbsp parsley

1.5 tsp season salt, or seafood seasoning (whatever you have)

Cook pasta.  Meanwhile, in a large skillet, melt  your butter, and saute garlic.  I used a microplane to do my garlic so there are no big garlic chunks.  Stir in flour until well blended.  It will clump up like this.  Use a good whisk to keep break up the flour chunks; gradually add broth and milk (whatever kind you have that isn’t spoiled).  Stir this mixture for 2 minutes or until thickened.  Stir in cheese and parsley.  Add shrimp, and cook to opaque.

Drain pasta, pour shrimp and sauce mixture over pasta.

Done.  I managed to get dinner on the table, WITH ingredients that weren’t two years old.  Hard work, but somebody’s got to do it.

Comments

  1. I love culinary disasters – well done for turning it around!

Leave a Reply

One Cheap Utah Chick

teaching you how to live rich on less

Whimsy at Heart

My heart for research gives you more time for whimsy.

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

See Cupcake Run

I only run to eat more cupcakes

Happy Being Healthy

Striving to live a healthy, happy life...one day at a time.

Not That Momma

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Real Mom Kitchen

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Simply Kierste Design Co.

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Eat at Home

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

Mommy Hates Cooking

Food, Fitness, Family, and Fun. The important stuff.

